Group of scholarship Recipients

   Since the first two scholarships of $500 each were presented in 2001, the Southwest Technology Center Foundation has awarded over $250,000 in scholarships to deserving adult students enrolled in full time programs.

     Recently, David Braddock, Foundation President, Mary Beth Dobbs Tischler, Foundation Board Member and Dale Latham, SWTC Superintendent, presented forty scholarships totaling $12,000. Among the recipients were German Aguirre, Brandi Alexander, Justin Atchley, Tiffany Baker, Derek Beebe, Brandi Boley, Frank Bone, Connor Brooks, Jessica Cooler, Charles Daszczuk, Carissa Delarosa, Johnathan Delzer, Shaina Denney, Cosul Dresser, Gilbert Garcia, Patrick Garcia, Ricardo Garcia, Josh Garza, Caleb Goans, Destinee Jackson, Tyrell Johnson, Taylor Kellison, Thomas Langley, Peyton Lynch, Adrian Madrigales, Carson McClure, Ethan Miller, Tristan Netherton, Alison Nichols, Chance Orick, Sky Pelfrey, Johnathan Reeves, Demarco Rios, Chandler Sikes, Christine Stych, Jose Suarez, Grady Thompson, Carter Torrez, and Jack Wright. Adrienne Griffin was recognized as the Elks Club scholarship recipient. 

     The sole purpose of the Foundation is to support students through the scholarship program. Many times these students have tuition expenses as well as the added burden of not being able to hold a full-time job while attending school to prepare for the workforce. Upon completion of the program added expenses of becoming certified in their specific industry are incurred before the student can work through a pay period. It is very important to the SWTC Foundation Board members to help these students during difficult times and ensure success in their career field.

     Each summer a golf tournament is conducted as the SWTC Foundation’s only fundraiser, and for the past several years over $20,000 has been raised at this event. One hundred percent of the proceeds from the tournament are given back in the form of student scholarships.